I remember following Alan and Kim through that house, listening intently to Jeff Colle’s best dog ‘n pony…there was no one better than Jeff.   Brazilian hardwood floors, reclaimed barn wood, herringbone brick fireplaces and a guest suite for mother. Radiant heated floors, his and hers bathrooms, superbly engineered heating and cooling with constant humidity control and an extensive land sculpting plan with drainage to accommodate the over-sized gunite pool.  It was the most handsome house I had ever seen.  Alan liked it…Kim HAD to have it…Alan bought it. Nice!

Alan was Paul Brennan’s customer, who I was fortunate enough to meet and start working with as an assistant, soon after I began in the business. I was on the ballz of my ass after my marriage broke up and I moved from Remsenberg to Sag Harbor to launch a career in real estate. After all, I had burned out in the restaurant business after nearly 20 years, I can’t hit a nail with a hammer and have a brown thumb. What else was I going to do to try and make a living on the East End?

Paul had the customers in the Rolodex that he spun through constantly, I did the research on what to show them…he had final say, but I KNEW this was the house…and I was right. Oh, what a feeling! $5,350,000. It should have been an open listing, but Jeff ended up giving the exclusive to a soon-to-be-ex ( if I recall correctly)…gawd!  It pissed Paul off, but I was just happy to be doing business, wanting to give up the bartending  and bookkeepping shifts I had taken on in Wainscott to pay the rent.

The first time “it” happened, was a few months earlier with the first house that David Silvera was building on Halsey Farm Drive in Southampton, with another of Paul’s customers. That one was $3,000,000

Then again, with the house that Barry Brown built for Rob Tanner on Sarah’s Way in East Hampton (which has been on the market for 2+ years)

My how things have changed…here’s Alan and Kim’s East Hampton house, back on the market…9 years later.